"We Have The Answers!"
Experience :: That's The Difference
Home News Services Products Testimonials Tools About Us Contact Us

Welcome to the MicroEd Professional Services Website.

MicroEd has been assisting local businesses with Computer Systems and IT Support since 1984. This year we celebrate our 26th birthday.

MicroEd Professional Services provide a host of Computer related services for business including Computer Consultancy, Systems Analysis and Design, Phone and Remote IT Support/Administration, On-Site Callout Technicians, Maintenance Plans, Troubleshooting, Upgrades and Repairs.

Although we are based at Morayfield, Qld we regularly service Caboolture, Bribie Island, Deception Bay, Redcliffe, Northlakes, Lawnton, Burpengary, Strathpine, Petrie, Brendale, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Maroochydore, Noosa, Gympie. We also provide services statewide and interstate including regional areas.

"I just wish we had called you guys in earlier"

Our on-site callout technicians understand how critical your computer system is to your business and how expensive and damaging down-time can be. Professional Services provide a range of services to ensure you can concentrate on the task at hand rather than the technicalities. [more]

Why use MicroEd ?
Experience makes all the difference, click [here] to learn more.

Microsoft Registered Partner   ESET    Intel
Telstra T-Suite Approved Partner    Microsoft Exchange Registered Partner
Leading Edge Logo

News & Updates

CRYPTO / RANSOMWARE is doing the rounds….
Wed, 07 Nov 2018 06:38:59

If you see the below screen  DO NOT close any programs DO NOT shut down your computer! CALL an IT professional for Help, and as a general rule DO NOT leave Backup drives attached! if you are already completely enc rypted this course of action won’t “fix” anything… For this particular attack you need to have a what if plan ready, would you be willing to pay the ransom? If yes, then the virus needs to be able to “Call Home” to report it’s unlock code. If not then the best course of action may be to literally pull the plug! As always, the best backup plan is to have adequate backups! This new round of Crypto appears to be a scheduled attack, meaning it is set to run at a set time/date. The attacks we have seen in recent weeks ran at about 10pm. This causes 2 issues: We can’t trace how it is getting in, because we don’t know when it happened. It has not only encrypted all of the data but also everything connected to the machine including any attached Backup Drives. So let’s revisit our Back up rules. Backup Rules: Have more than one backup in rotation (2 is good, 3 is optimal) Make it someone’s job to check the backups are successful! No use just hoping. (this is a new one) Check the machines aren’t already infected BEFORE changing the drive! Do it at the end of the day. A lot of receptionist will come into the office and change the back up drive on their way to make a coffee, you have now just destroyed both backups. Of course, this advice is general and doesn’t account for all possible configurations, if you are concerned and would like to check your vulnerability feel free to contact our...

Continue Reading

The post CRYPTO / RANSOMWARE is doing the rounds…. appeared first on MicroEd Computers.


Our Phones are Down
Tue, 17 Jul 2018 05:52:14

UPDATE: 18/07/2018 – For the second day in a row Telstra have disconnected the phones again and now they don’t know what they did with our main number – Please use 07 5408 0305 Telstra in their infinite wisdom have disconnected our lines, please use 07 5408 0305 to call us.

The post Our Phones are Down appeared first on MicroEd Computers.


printersupport australia.com = SCAM!!!!
Mon, 19 Dec 2016 05:53:25

Recently we did some investigation work and found a rather elaborate scam targeting printer issues. It all started when we had a customer call us to check the advise he had received from “Epson” when he had phoned their support number on the website epson.printersupportaustralia.com. After telling him that he was correct and that hanging up on the “support” was the correct thing to do it go us thinking… this customer called them… from “their” website. So we did some investigation work and thats when we found the elaborate scam targeting printer issues. So like most people would, this customer had used google and searched “epson printer support australia” and found the above website however no matter what brand of printer you search they all bring up the exact same website : hp.printersupportaustralia.com brother.printersupportaustralia.com canon.printersupportaustralia.com The only difference is the colour, even the lovely lady in the chat window has the same name on all of these website! Unfortunately to the untrained eye these website look pretty legitimate, but because we deal with these kinds of websites day in day out we knew straight away something was up. The biggest giveaway on these sites is the lack of company LOGO, the next being that there would normally be tabs such as Support/Drivers/Downloads. But the first give away right from the start is the domain, typicaly these site have the full company domain followed by what you are looking for eg. canon.com.au/support. Unfortunately scammers are getting more and more cunning, so if your ever in doubt please phone us, even if there is something wrong and you do require a call out/phone support or to bring the computer into the store isn’t it better to be able to put a face and a physical location to who you are paying? Not to mention keeping...

Continue Reading

The post printersupport australia.com = SCAM!!!! appeared first on MicroEd Computers.


WARNING – SCAM EMAIL “… shared a document ” !!!
Mon, 10 Oct 2016 05:56:16

WARNING IF YOU RECEIVE THIS EMAIL DO NOT FOLLOW THE PROMPTS!!! There is a email going around this week that tells you a contact has shared a document with you…. It then prompts you to Log in to view the document, the email isn’t legitimate… there are 2 ways to tell this isn’t a legitimate email: Look at the actual email address next to the person you know’s name… If you do click on the shared document / log in page you will notice all of the icons are warped (surely Google could fix this if it was real) and the Google copywright is the wrong year. Why is this so Bad… If you do log in to one of these applications you are actually giving “ryanirishdancing@gmail.com” your username, password and access to your account including sensitive emails and your address book so they can now send this to your contacts… It won’t get picked up as a virus as it is simply an email, that isn’t trying to “Run” anything…. If you are ever unsure CHECK!!!  

The post WARNING – SCAM EMAIL “… shared a document ” !!! appeared first on MicroEd Computers.


Please click here to view more...

© 2009, MicroEd Professional Services. SiteMap
Website by MicroEd Web Services.